How can we help you?

What do Crawl, Walk, Run, Fly mean as Maturity Stages?

Team maturity is assessed and tracked within AgilityHealth® as part of our team assessments. Many of our assessments use the Crawl, Walk, Run, Fly model for Agile team maturity (and some also incorporate Pre-Crawl). Learn why AgilityHealth® uses Craw, Walk, Run, Fly

After some team based assessments, the maturity stage is entered into AgilityHealth® by the AgilityHealth® Facilitator, and is determined during the Team's retrospective session. By analyzing the assessment results, including the team's radar, the textual responses and the analytics table, a Facilitator and the team's ScrumMaster can help Teams determine which maturity stage most accurately reflects their current state. 

If the assessment was for the TeamHealth radar, a Team Maturity Stage should be pre-populated. This was calculated based on responses to the qualitative questions in the assessment. An AHF can override the maturity stage if they truly believe the team is in a different stage than what AgilityHealth® calculated for the team.

The assessment questions align to this model so that team members can clearly identify the stage they are currently in for each competency. Every question within the assessment is additive, which means that in order for a team member to pick the answer that corresponds to Run, the team must meet the criteria in Crawl and Walk.

In the below example, based on the Crawl/Walk/Run/Fly scale, a team member will pick from a scale of 1-10 for their answer. Crawl is 1-2, Walk is 3-5, Run is 6-8 and Fly is 9-10. If the team meets the criteria for both Crawl and Walk but not Fly, the team member should pick 6, 7 or 8 as their answer. 


Maturity Stages: Radar Results and Goals to Improve


Maturity Stages: Growth Plan for Training and Coaching



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
    Download article


Please sign in to leave a comment.